Nov 19, 2015 Issues: Overseas Conflict, Illegal Immigration

Washington, DC—Today, Congressman Walter B. Jones (NC-3) voted against H.R. 4038, The American SAFE Act, which would do nothing to cut off the funding for President Barack Obama’s plan to import tens of thousands of Middle Eastern refugees into the U.S., and would allow the Obama administration to continue to decide how many refugees to let in, and who.  The bill was voted on under a closed rule and no amendments were allowed to be considered.  The bill passed the House 289 to 137 and is unlikely to be taken up in the Senate until after Thanksgiving.

Congressman Jones made this statement on the vote: “Defunding President Obama’s refugee program is the only way to ensure that America can actually stop a refugee influx until we can determine without question that we are not giving terrorists a free pass into the United States.  Congress can defund the program in the appropriations bill which will come to the floor in early December.  To ensure our safety, Congress must seize that opportunity and use its constitutional power of the purse.  Short of that, even if today’s bill were to pass the Congress and be signed into law, the President would still retain the power to let in whoever, and however many, refugees he pleases. And given the President’s unwavering support for open borders, unchecked illegal immigration, and mass importation of foreign refugees, we know he can’t be trusted with that authority.”    

On Monday, November 16, Congressman Jones wrote a letter to Speaker Paul Ryan calling for Congress to block funds for the Obama administration’s massive Middle Eastern refugee resettlement program when Congress appropriates money for the Boehner-Obama debt deal before the end of the year.   In the letter, Congressman Jones states that he will not vote for any bill that provides funding for the Obama administration’s dangerous Middle Eastern refugee resettlement program.

Congressman Jones is also a cosponsor on H.R. 4032, the States’ Right of Refugee Refusal Act of 2015, which would protect the right of states to reject participation in President Obama’s refugee program.